The favorites of the world cup

The World Cup in Qatar starts in just over ten days and four clear favorites seem to be emerging:

Brazil, the great favorite

This is probably the huge of this World Cup. The Brazilians qualified by finishing first in the qualifying group of the South American zone and being undefeated, with fourteen wins and three draws, the best attack and the best defense.

Tite has an impressive attack with Neymar as leader, Vinicius Jr, Gabriel Jesus, Antony, Gabriel Martinelli or Rodrygo. The danger can come from everywhere, even from midfield with players like Lucas Paquetá, Bruno Guimarães, Casemiro or Fabinho. The only small weak point of this team is in the flanks with Dani Alves and Danilo on the right, or even Éder Militão who has already occupied this position, and Alex Telles and Alex Sandro on the left. The 4-2-3-1 should be the system preferred by the Brazilian coach.

The last time the Seleção won the title was in 2002.

France, the title holder

The French Team is also one of the favorites of the event, it will seek to retain its title, something that has been done only twice in history. It will also be able to count on Karim Benzema, Ballon d'Or 2022, who was not present in 2018 and who makes this World Cup a major objective.

The strong point of Les Bleus lies in its attack composed of Kylian Mbappé, author of a very good statistical start of the season with Paris Saint-Germain, and Karim Benzema, who has however been preserved in recent weeks because of a thigh discomfort in view of this competition.

The negative point seems to be the absence of Paul Pogba and N'Golo Kanté, the two midfielders of the 2018 epic in Russia. To replace them, Aurelien Tchouameni seems to hold the rope as a starter, there is still a doubt about who will accompany him in the middle of the field, everything will depend on the system that Didier Deschamps will use. Another doubt is whether the central defense will be as solid as four years ago. Raphaël Varane will just come back from injury, as will Lucas Hernandez, and there are uncertainties about the men lined up in this sector.


Argentina, for Messi

For what should be the last World Cup of Lionel Messi, Argentina will have in heart to shine and to go to seek a title which flees him since 1986. The Albiceleste finished second in the South American zone qualification behind Brazil and was undefeated, with eleven wins and six draws.

To accompany the Argentine number 10 in attack, we should find Lautaro Martinez and Angel Di Maria. And the bench is not left out with players such as Julián Alvarez, Papu Gomez or Angel Correa. The uncertainties of Argentina are in the defense, only Nicolás Tagliafico, the left back of Lyon, seems to be assured of a starting place. On the right, there will be a match between Nahuel Molina and Gonzalo Montiel and in the center, there are several options with Lisandro Martinez, Nicolás Otamendi, Cristian Romero and German Pezzella. Coach Lionel Scaloni is likely to field a 4-3-3.


England, the continuity

Finalist of the last Euro, England seems to be in a position to aim for something important with its new generation even if Gareth Southgate's players have made a very bad Nations League with three draws and three defeats in ten games.

England will be able to rely on the top scorer of the last World Cup Harry Kane. In a system that should be the 3-4-3, he should be accompanied by Phil Foden and Raheem Sterling in attack. Bukayo Saka, Premier League leader with Arsenal, could have a say in the team. The two midfielders should be Jude Bellingham, who has made a remarkable start to the season with Borussia Dortmund, and Declan Rice.

Uncertainties concerning injuries, Kyle Walker, Kalvin Phillips and Reece James will not play again before the World Cup, they are not even sure to be present! Ben Chilwell is already out ! There are doubts about the defense, Harry Maguire, usual starter, does not play with Manchester United, John Stones as well as Kyle Walker play right side with their club and in the axis in selection. Only Eric Dier seems to be a certainty. There is also a doubt about the man who will occupy the starting goalkeeper place between Nick Pope and Aaron Ramsdale, both authors of a very good season.

The Three Lions have only won the World Cup once, in 1966.

See all articles